It is official! Leyla Yunus is nomiated for Sakharov Prize 2014

Seven nominees for the European Parliament’s 2014 Sakharov Prize for freedom of thought, chosen by political groups and groups of MEPs, will be presented at a meeting of the Foreign Affairs and Development committees and the Human Rights Subcommittee on 23 September, at 16:15.

The committees will shortlist three finalists on 7 October. The laureate will be decided by political group leaders and Parliament’s President on 16 October. The award ceremony takes place in Strasbourg on 26 November.

The nominees (in alphabetical order) are:

Mahmoud Al ‘Asali (post mortem) and Louis Raphael Sako,

nominated by the ECR group, Anna Záborská and 66 other MEPs,

Mouad Belghouate, Ala Yaacoubi and Alaa Abdel Fattah,

nominated by the GUE/NGL group,

CHREDO, Open Doors, Oeuvre d’Orient and Aid to the Church in Need,

nominated by Philippe Juvin and 60 other MEPs,

EuroMaidan, represented by Mustafa Nayem, Ruslana Lyzhychko, Yelyzaveta Schepetylnykova and Tetiana Chornovo

, nominated by Jacek Saryusz-Wolski and 52 other MEPs,

Ayaan Hirsi Ali,

nominated by the EFDD group,

Denis Mukwege,

nominated by the S&D and ALDE groups and Barbara Lochbihler, and

Leyla Yunus

, nominated by The Greens/EFA group and Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Marietje Schaake and Ramon Tremosa.

ГлавнаяNewsIt is official! Leyla Yunus is nomiated for Sakharov Prize 2014